Tuesday, May 23, 2006

Mindscan nominated for Campbell Memorial

I am delighted to report that my Mindscan is a finalist for this year's John W. Campbell Memorial Award.

The nominees are:
  • Transcendent, by Stephen Baxter
  • The Meq, by Steve Cash
  • Child Of Earth, by David Gerrold
  • Mind's Eye, by Paul J. McAuley
  • Seeker, by Jack McDevitt
  • Learning The World, by Ken MacLeod
  • The Summer Isles, by Ian R. MacLeod
  • Counting Heads, by David Marusek
  • Mindscan, by Robert J. Sawyer
  • Accelerando, by Charles Stross
  • The World Before, by Karen Traviss
  • Spin, by Robert Charles Wilson

The Campbell Memorial is the only major award given exclusively to science fiction; fantasy works are not eligible. It is also the only major juried award in the science-fiction field. This year's jurors are:

  • Gregory Benford
  • Paul A. Carter
  • James Gunn
  • Elizabeth Anne Hull
  • Christopher McKitterick
  • Farah Mendlesohn
  • Pamela Sargent
  • T.A. Shippey

This is my third time being nominated for the Campbell Memorial Award (which is not to be confused with the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer, given alongside the Hugos each year). My previous Campbell Memorial Award nominations were for Calculating God and Hominids.

The winner will be announced at Campbell Conference and Awards Banquet, July 6-9, 2006.


At May 23, 2006 3:49 PM , Blogger Edward Willett said...

Congratulations, Rob!

Third time lucky, I hope!

At May 23, 2006 9:32 PM , Blogger Lou_Sytsma said...

Good luck ROb!


Post a Comment

<< Home