Friday, January 11, 2008

Preliminary Nebula Award Ballot includes Rollback

The Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America have just released their Preliminary Nebula Award Ballot. Here's the list in the Novel category (under the SFWA "rolling eligibility" rules, a number of these books are from two years ago):
  • The Accidental Time Machine, by Joe Haldeman
  • Blindsight, by Peter Watts
  • Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, by J.K. Rowling
  • Mainspring, by Jay Lake
  • The New Moon's Arms, by Nalo Hopkinson
  • Odyssey, by Jack McDevitt
  • The Outback Stars, by Sandra McDonald
  • Ragamuffin, by Tobias Buckell
  • Rollback, by Robert J. Sawyer
  • Species Imperative #3: Regeneration, by Julie E. Czerneda
  • Strange Robby, by Selina Rosen
  • Vellum: The Book of All Hours, by Hal Duncan
  • The Yiddish Policemen's Union, by Michael Chabon
It must be something in the water up here, 'cause I note that four of the 13 novels are by Canadians (Czerneda, Hopkinson, Sawyer, and Watts -- sounds like a law firm!).

SFWA members will now vote on this preliminary ballot, and the top five, plus optionally a sixth work not listed here that may be added by a jury, will constitute the final Nebula Award ballot.

The Robert J. Sawyer Web Site


Post a Comment

<< Home