[Robert J. Sawyer] Science Fiction Writer
Hugo and Nebula Winner

SFWRITER.COM > About Rob > Nebula Award

Nebula Award

[Nebula Trophy]

Thornhill, Ontario, writer Robert J. Sawyer won the 1995 Nebula Award — the "Academy Award" of Science Fiction — for Best Novel of the Year. His winning novel, The Terminal Experiment, is set in Toronto fifteen years from now. It tells the story of Peter Hobson, a biomedical engineer who discovers scientific proof for the existence of the human soul.

The Terminal Experiment was a May 1995 title from HarperPrism, the SF imprint of HarperCollins (ISBN 0-061-05310-4). The Nebula Award was presented to Sawyer at a banquet aboard the H.M.S. Queen Mary moored off Long Beach, California, on Saturday, April 27, 1996.

The Nebulas are voted on and awarded by the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America, which has 1,100 members in 23 countries. Sawyer's win is the first for a Canadian since William Gibson received the prize for his 1984 novel Neuromancer.

More Good Reading

Press Release

Robert J. Sawyer's essay on winning the Nebula Award
Reflections on winning the Nebula 15 years later

Chronological list of Best Novel Nebula Winners
Alphabetical list of all authors who have won best-novel Nebulas
Alphabetical list of all novels that have won best-novel Nebulas

Excerpt from The Terminal Experiment

About Rob
Book Clubs
Short Stories
Press Kit
How to Write
Email Rob
Canadian SF



Copyright © 1995-2016 by Robert J. Sawyer.