Robert J. Sawyer

Hugo and Nebula Award-Winning Science Fiction Writer

Aurora Award winners

by Rob - May 19th, 2008.
Filed under: Uncategorized.

My congratulations to Nalo Hopkinson, whose The New Moon’s Arms took the English Long-Form Aurora Award this year; it was an honour to be on a ballot with such a fine book, and I’m thrilled to see Nalo win her first Aurora. Way to go, Nalo!

I was also honoured to be the presenter of the Lifetime Achievement Aurora to Dennis Mullin, the recently retired administrator of the Auroras. This was the first Lifetime Achievement Aurora to be given since 1986, and was richly deserved. And I was thrilled to accept Julie E. Czerneda and Jana Paniccia‘s award in the Best English (Other) Category. And, of course, it was delightful to see my writing student Hayden Trenholm win the Best Short-Form Work in English trophy.

TV personality Liana K did a great job as master of ceremonies; Tanya Huff gave a wonderful speech at the awards banquet; and Clint Budd did sterling work running the awards this year.

The winners of the 2008 Prix Aurora Awards were announced Sunday 18 May 2008 at Keycon 25 in Winnipeg:

Lifetime Achievement:
Dennis Mullin

Best Long-Form Work in English:
The New Moon’s Arms by Nalo Hopkinson (Warner)

Best Long-Form Work in French:
Cimetière du musée by Diane Boudreau (du Phoenix)

Best Short-Form Work in English:
“Like Water in the Desert” by Hayden Trenholm (Challenging Destiny)

Best Short-Form Work in French:
“Sur la plage des Èpaves” by Laurent MacAllister (Solaris)

Best Work in English (Other):
Under Cover of Darkness edited by Julie E. Czerneda & Jana Paniccia (DAW)

Best Work in French (Other):
No nominations.

Artistic Achievement:
Lar deSouza

Fan Achievement (Fanzine):
No award.

Fan Achievement (Organizational):
Penny Lipman

Fan Achievement (Other):
Paul Bobbitt (editor of The Voyageur)

The Robert J. Sawyer Web Site

Leave a Reply