Robert J. Sawyer

Hugo and Nebula Award-Winning Science Fiction Writer

John W. Campbell Memorial Award results

by Rob - July 12th, 2008.
Filed under: Uncategorized.

Well, although nominated, I did not place in the 2008 John W. Campbell Memorial Awards (and neither did the other Canadian nominees, Nalo Hopkinson and Robert Charles Wilson). The winners, announced last night in Kansas, were:

1st: In War Times, Kathleen Ann Goonan, Tor
2nd: The Yiddish Policeman’s Union, Michael Chabon, HarperCollins
3rd: The Execution Channel, Ken MacLeod, Tor

The other nominees, not ranked, were:

  • Brian Aldiss, HARM, Del Rey
  • Nalo Hopkinson, The New Moon’s Arms, Grand Central Publishing
  • Jay Lake, Mainspring, Tor
  • Ian McDonald, Brasyl, Pyr
  • Rebecca Ore, Time’s Child, Eos
  • Matt Ruff, Bad Monkeys, HarperCollins
  • Robert J. Sawyer, Rollback, Tor
  • Jose Carlos Somoza, Zig Zag, Rayo
  • Sheri S. Tepper, The Margarets, Eos
  • Jeffrey Thomas, Deadstock, Solaris
  • Robert Charles Wilson, Axis, Tor

Excellent company to be in!

Only Greg Bear (with 7 nominations to date) and Jack McDevitt (with 5) now have more John W. Cambpell Memorial Award nominations than me. I’m tied now with 4 nominations a piece with Frederik Pohl, Sheri S. Tepper, and Ken MacLeod. I’d previously been nominated for Calculating God (which tied for second place) and Hominids (which came in third place), and I won for Mindscan.

I’d known for weeks that I hadn’t won; the Campbell Committee notifies the winner in May of each year, so that they can plan a trip to Kansas for the ceremony … so, this comes as no surprise (also, the names of the announced guests since May included Kathy Goonan, so it didn’t take a genius to figure out she’d won). Still, big, big congrats to Kathleen Ann Goonan!

The Robert J. Sawyer Web Site

Leave a Reply