Robert J. Sawyer

Hugo and Nebula Award-Winning Science Fiction Writer

First-season Star Trek episodes in production order

by Rob - October 19th, 2009.
Filed under: Star Trek.

FlashForward — the TV series based on my novel of the same name — is a serial drama: it’s meant to be watched in sequence, and the episodes are being filmed in the order in which they will air.

But the original Star Trek (and, indeed, most nighttime television for decades) was an episodic drama, with little changing between episodes, and, in theory, the episodes could be watched or aired in any order. In fact, for classic Trek the original broadcast order bore little resemblance to the sequence in which the shows were produced.

But now that I’m working my way through the series again on Blu-ray (where it looks amazing), I’ve decided to watch the episodes in the order they were produced, so that I can trace the development of ideas. For the record, this is the production order for the first (1966-67) season:

  1. The Cage (unaired pilot)
  2. Where No Man Has Gone Before
  3. The Corbomite Maneuver
  4. Mudd’s Women
  5. The Enemy Within
  6. The Man Trap
  7. The Naked Time
  8. Charlie X
  9. Balance of Terror
  10. What Are Little Girls Made Of?
  11. Dagger of the Mind
  12. Miri
  13. The Conscience of the King
  14. The Galileo Seven
  15. Court Martial
  16. The Menagerie (Parts I and II)
  17. Shore Leave
  18. The Squire of Gothos
  19. Arena
  20. The Alternative Factor
  21. Tomorrow is Yesterday
  22. The Return of the Archons
  23. A Taste of Armageddon
  24. Space Seed
  25. This Side of Paradise
  26. The Devil in the Dark
  27. Errand of Mercy
  28. City on the Edge of Forever
  29. Operation: Annihilate!

Visit The Robert J. Sawyer Web Site

Leave a Reply