Robert J. Sawyer

Hugo and Nebula Award-Winning Science Fiction Writer

2021 Canadian SF&F Hall of Fame inductees

by Rob - April 24th, 2021.
Filed under: Auroras, Awards, Canadian SF.

Carolyn Clink and I were honoured to serve on the jury selecting this year’s inductees into the Canadian Science Fiction and Fantasy Hall of Fame, along with fellow jurors Clint Budd, Marcie Tentchoff, and Chris Sturges.

It’s a delight to announce that this year’s inductees are Stan Hyde, the late Monica Hughes, and Jean-Louis Trudel. Bios below:

Stan Hyde is an exemplar of passionate, lifelong devotion to SF&F fandom and fan activity, specifically in the areas of club organization, writing, film media, and model kit making, painting, and collecting.

Stan is also noted for the numerous articles he has written for G-Fest, a magazine devoted to the topic of Godzilla, about whom Stan is a world-renowned expert and recognized as such by Toho Studios where he is always welcome. (He visits once every two years on average.)

Monica Hughes (1925-2003), an Officer of the Order of Canada, wrote about 40 books including more than 20 that ISFDB covers as speculative fiction novels. Although she spent a large part of her life writing, she was almost fifty when her first book was published (Gold-Fever Trail: A Klondike Adventure, a Canadian historical novel.)

The Isis trilogy comprises The Keeper of the Isis Light and two sequels, originally published by Hamish Hamilton of London, 1980 to 1982. Accepting the Phoenix Award for Keeper twenty years later, Hughes discussed her writing process in general and specifically for that work.

WorldCat reports that Invitation to the Game (Toronto: HarperCollins, 1990) is her work most widely held in participating libraries, by a wide margin. It is a dystopian novel set on Earth in the year 2154.

Her last book was The Maze (2002). It features a female protagonist and two bullies magically placed in a maze, where they all depend on her for rescue.

Invitation to the Game (Toronto: HarperCollins, 1990) won the Hal Clement Award as the year’s best science fiction novel for young adults.


  • Governor General’s Award / Canada Council Children’s Literature Prize 1981: Monica Hughes, The Guardian of Isis

  • Governor General’s Award / Canada Council Children’s Literature Prize 1982: Monica Hughes, Hunter in the Dark

Born in Toronto, Jean-Louis Trudel holds degrees in physics, astronomy, and the history and philosophy of science. Since 1994, he has authored (alone or in collaboration with Yves Meynard as Laurent McAllister) three science fiction novels published in France, four fiction collections, and twenty-six young adult books published in Canada.

His short stories in French have appeared in magazines including Solaris and various other venues. In English, his short fiction has been published in several Canadian and U.S. anthologies, but also in magazines such as On Spec.

He currently teaches at the University of Ottawa, but he has also worked in recent years as a professional researcher, a museum curator, a translator, and a science fiction critic.

He has received several literary distinctions, including the “Grand Prix de la Science-Fiction et du Fantastique québécois” in 2001 and several Prix Aurora Awards.

His first Boréal convention was in 1986, and he became a Boréal board member in 1989 (he’s been the secretary-treasurer ever since). His involvement with the Caspers/Auroras continued, often as the intermediary providing the Awards Committee with the lists of eligible works. He has been associated with CSFFA since it was founded as a federal Society.

Robert J. Sawyer online:

Leave a Reply