Robert J. Sawyer

Hugo and Nebula Award-Winning Science Fiction Writer

Cordwainer Smith Rediscovery Award

by Rob - September 14th, 2007.
Filed under: Uncategorized.

Since we’ve started our deliberations for next year’s recipient, it’s probably time that I noted publicly that I’m now one of four jurors for the annual Cordwainer Smith Rediscovery Award. I’m replacing Gordon Van Gelder, who has stepped down to spend more time with his family; the other current jurors are Martin Harry Greenberg, Barry Malzberg, and Mike Resnick.

The award is bestowed each year at Readercon, and goes to “a science fiction or fantasy writer whose work displays unusual originality, embodies the spirit of Cordwainer Smith’s fiction, and deserves renewed attention or ‘Rediscovery.'” Past winners include Olaf Stapledon, R.A. Lafferty, and Leigh Brackett.

More info here.

I’m honored and thrilled to be part of the jury.

The Robert J. Sawyer Web Site

Leave a Reply